Description and game instructions

practice addition on an abacus If you do not already know how to use an abacus you are recommended to play the game Abacus - basics. A descriptions of how the abacus is built up and the values of the beads, can also be found there. If you want to practice subtraction on an abacus there's a well suited game for that!

Difficulties in addition

When you calculate addition on an abacus there are three difficulties you may encounter as described below. There are corresponding levels in the game above, to be able to practice all the difficulties individually or many at the same time.
Switch five
Carrying five means that there are not enough beads in the lower deck of the rod and you need to switch into a bead with the value of five from the upper deck. The additions you need to remember in these calculations are:
4 = 5 - 1
3 = 5 - 2
2 = 5 - 3
1 = 5 - 4
Switch ten
Carrying ten means that there are not enough beads on that rod. Therefore, a bead from the rod to the left need to be switched. Try to make the switch directly - without switching between the two beads above the beam (which each have the value five). You have to master the following additions to perform a carry with the value of ten:
9 = 10 - 14 = 10 - 6
8 = 10 - 23 = 10 - 7
7 = 10 - 32 = 10 - 8
6 = 10 - 41 = 10 - 9
5 = 10 - 5
Switch both 5 and 10
This means you have to perform both the switched mentioned above. At first it might be difficult to manage the switches and it's really easy to get lost in an exchange. One tip is to remember the initial value the abacus had so that you can start over just from there, without having to restart the entire round.

Is it possible to cheat with calculating on an abacus?

No, there are no cheating if you want to learn how to use an abacus efficiently. If you are prone to mental arithmetic, you can of course perform the addition in your head and then move the beads to the right positions. But then there is also no point in using the abacus!

Calculation of knowledge points

Each completed level gives you one knowledge point. The maximum number of points (12 knowledge points) is achieved when you complete twelve levels. Even when you have completed a level, you can continue practicing at that level, but it gives you no more knowledge points.